Unanswered: Noob looking for brief advice

Hi all, hopefully someone can give me a rough idea what I could be letting myself in for.

This isnt a request for anyone to spoonfeed me an idiots guide (though I will need one from somewhere if I go ahead), just to find out whether I should buy an off the shelf program or build it myself (after learning how to!)

I have zero experience with databases and all the language and features that come with them. I am however far more technophile than technophobe, use computers daily and am the usual 'go to guy' for any problem that has a plug on the end of it.

I have MS Access 2010 and also Excel etc. but I can use a different program if necessary.

I belong to a non-profit social club that takes memberships subscriptions annually. Each member has a number, they pay their fee and it gets marked in the book. Some members are elderly, cannot remember their numbers and lose their cards, and they always have names like Smith or Jones so I have to search through all the pages to find them (Member Number order)
    'All' I'm looking to do, is transfer this data onto a computer. Now I know this could just be dumped onto a spreadsheet, but it got me thinking I could make this far more intelligent.

I'd like something that can hold their names and contact details, but also can tell you how long they've been a member for (after 25 years the annual fee drops so I'd like some automation or at least a flag)
    I'd like something that can keep track of each years payment because sometimes a member may not remember to pay and so the membership fee simply rolls over to the following year (we dont chase up fees, members simply become lapsed after 3 years and would become new members on return)
    We also have other optional pass cards that allow entrance to other clubs of the same association which cost a separate annual fee if they wish, so this would be nice to log.