Unanswered: Simple Record Update

Complete newbie (version 5.5.41-0ubuntu0.12.04.1). I have a simple table with one column (integer). I want to know how to increment the value of the record for a specific record (i.e. line) number.

I know how to query the record:

SELECT * FROM tbl LIMIT offset, 1

but I want to modify the value to be the current value + 1. How would I do that? If it matters, I'm trying to do it from a C program.

I've tried something like:

update tbl set ColName = newval limit offset, 1

but that doesn't work. Appreciate any tips/suggestions.

Provided Answers: 59
    ther update syntax is
    UPDATE mytable
    SET mycolumn = blah
    WHERE <some form of filter>
    the UPDATED and SET are required the where is optional, if omitted ALL rows will be updated. think of the where clause as limiting the rows to be updated so no where clause means all rows.

SQL databases are optimised for set operations. rahter than a traditional programming approach of iterating through items in a list the SQL engine does that iteration for you.

So say you wanted to add 1 to a column in every row in your table
    Code:
    UPDATE my_table SET my_column = my_column + 1
    So say you want to add 1 to every column based on a value elsewhere (say if a column held todays date
    Code:
    WHERE my_date_column = '2015/01/30'
    BUT a where clause must be specific if you want to limit to a sepcific set of rows.
    so say you wanted to increment the current valeu of 50 then
    Code:
    WHERE my_column = 50
    ..that will set all rows whose my_column = 50 to 51

but a SQL engine has now concept of line numbers UNLESS YOU specifically set one as part of your design