Question Unanswered: Where Can I Take Certifications

Hello everybody. Back in August I graduated from Empire State College with a Bachelor's Degree of Science. Concentration IT. I am now a systems administrator for a real estate company in the Buffalo, NY area.

I have been learning a lot the past 5 months of the job in the IT world. I want to further my expertise and take a few certifications to become even more qualified. I wanted to ask where I can take certifications such as the MCSA: Windows Server 2008 and other ones of that nature?

Is there a ladder I need to climb to get to that certification? Or do I just pick and choose which certifications I'd like to obtain? I really do not have a lot of knowledge regarding certs seeing that I am a new grad. Any advice in the right direction would be great. Hearing from anybody's personal experiences would be great as well. Thank you.

Hi, a good starting point is the Microsoft web site - read the roadmap - https://www.microsoft.com/learning/e...-overview.aspx
    ---------------------------------
    www.sqlserver-dba.com
    www.dba-db2.com

Thanks for the link Jack. I will indeed look into this.

Provided Answers: 6
    Yeah I took the 70-461 MS exam and failed miserably twice. It was a rough exam, but if you can get that and I believe one more you can get your Database MCSA. I'm more of a BA / Software PM so I don't want to deep dive all that much, but for a SQL developer it might be nice to have especially if you are a principal.

Provided Answers: 11