Answered: How to accomplish lookups/joins

My company is using an out-of-the-box type intranet product, so we cannot control the design of the affiliated SQL tables. With that said, the intranet product has a Chat function that we need to be able to retain the history for. I'm pretty new to SQL and am unsure how to accomplish writing a query to show the history in a way that will be easily legible. Here are the table structures:

ChatHistory Table:
    • MessageID
    • UserID (Sender)
    • ChatID (Receiver)

ChatMessage Table:
    • MessageID
    • Message (actual chat message)

UserProfile Table:
    • UserID
    • UserName

The difficulty I'm having is that the ChatHistory table references two user IDs (the sender and the receiver), but both correlate to the same UserID in the UserProfile table. As far as I'm aware (and please correct me if I'm wrong) I can only join tables together one time. I use MS Access on a regular basis, which allows the use of the DLookup function. That's basically what I want to accomplish here. I've seen that SQL does have a Lookup function, but either I wrote the syntax incorrectly or else it also wasn't working for what I wanted to accomplish. This seems like it should be simple. I just want the query to basically show the structure of the ChatHistory table, but just with the information in it rather than the IDs, as such:

Sender: John Doe
    Receiver: Jane Doe

Can anyone tell me how I might accomplish this? Here is the code as I have it written so far:

SELECT ChatHistory.MessageID
    ,UserProfile.UserName
    ,ChatHistory.UserID
    ,ChatHistory.ChatID
    ,ChatMessages.Message
    FROM [dbo].[ChatHistory]
    INNER JOIN [dbo].ChatMessages on ChatHistory.MessageID=ChatMessages.MessageID AND ChatHistory.UserID = ChatMessages.UserID
    JOIN [dbo].UserProfile on ChatHistory.UserID=UserProfile.UserID
    ORDER BY ChatHistory.MessageID

2. Best Answer
    Posted by healdem