Thread: Back to Oracle

Unanswered: Back to Oracle

Hello,

I've been working with SQL Server for the past 5 to 7 years. The last time I worked with Oracle is 10g during it's early stages. How much has changed in 11 and 12 since then? With an intermediate database administration and development background, would I have a steep learning curve to catch up to 11 and 12? I'm back in the job hunting market, and am curious what I would face in an Oracle oriented interview.

Thank you in advance.

Where the Surf Meets the Turf @Del Mar, CA
    Provided Answers: 1
    What do you consider to be some of the major differences between Oracle & SQL Server?
    You can lead some folks to knowledge, but you can not make them think.
    The average person thinks he's above average!
    For most folks, they don't know, what they don't know.
    Good judgement comes from experience. Experience comes from bad judgement.

Interface, Structure, Language

Where the Surf Meets the Turf @Del Mar, CA
    Provided Answers: 1
    Consider to read the New Features manual for both V11 & V12 Oracle database
    You can lead some folks to knowledge, but you can not make them think.
    The average person thinks he's above average!
    For most folks, they don't know, what they don't know.
    Good judgement comes from experience. Experience comes from bad judgement.

Coming from SQL Server, I can attest that the transition to Oracle is not an easy one. Things that you take for granted in SQL Server you have to work
    at it in Oracle. If you were someone who started with Oracle or had significant training in Oracle, then you would just accept everything as normal
    and you wouldn't know any difference. Oracle has a lot of objects that SQL Server does not have such as Materialized Views (SQL Server has just Views),