Unanswered: Sequence number -- not Autonumber.

I am still new to the Access 2013 environment. I am building a database where a Quote Number would have xx number of Quote Items.

Table 1
    Quote_Number Autonumber
    Quote_Date Date [=Date()] and locked on my form

Table 2
    ID Autonumber
    Quote_Number Interger -- Long Interger -- (Foreign Key from Table 1)
    Item_Number {my sequential number -- Depending on the number of records for Quote_Number in this table}

How can I get my 'Item_Number" to be in sequence when grouped for 'Quote_Number?"

out on a limb
    Provided Answers: 59
    delete the ID. FWIW its generally advised to use an autonumber column where there is either:-
    no obvious existing column (or columns) that would make a good primary key ( a so called candidate key)
    there is an existing column, or columns that would make a good key, except that
    its too long / too complex / to fiddly
    or is liabel to change and there fore probbaly not suitablle as a PK.

in this case the combination of quote number and ItemNumber should be sufficient. Indeed it woudl be preferable to your current setup as
    1) it would enforce a relationship beteween table 2 and the quotations table. (ie there must be a pre existign quote number in tabel 1 bnefore you can enter rows in table2, you cant have a quote number in table 2 for which there isn't a matching quote number in table1

2) it woudl enforce that you can only ever have one quote + item number combination (so no duplicate item numbers for a specific quote.

so how to get an ascending sequential number . there's plenty of examples on this forum and elsewhere. google

things to bear in mind
    1) in a multi user environment you need totake design decisions on what to do if more than one person attemtpst o add an itme to the same quote at the same time.