Results 1 to 11 of 11
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Location
    Philippines
    Posts
    105

    Unanswered: Display the recordset entries in tab format

    Hi Guys

    I want to display 3 fields in a recordset in tabs using Show Message function. Is this possible?

    Thanks

    Ernie

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    132
    Provided Answers: 2
    1. Create a query assigning the three field values to three variables
    2. Create a recordset "Recordset=Records from a query" where the value will be the concatenation of the three variables.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Location
    Philippines
    Posts
    105
    Thanks spyroot. This is what I done. I want to display my Excel records with 3 columns using Show Message function. It should display like that of Excel. Is this possible?

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    132
    Provided Answers: 2
    I'm confuse.
    Are you trying to import three fields from excel in to brilliant database? whats the purpose of the message function?

    If you want to show the existing value of all three fields in a message, then use the display message function where message will be [$variable1] + [$variable2] + [$variable3]
    Last edited by spyroot; 04-02-15 at 19:54.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Location
    Philippines
    Posts
    105
    Yes. I created a form in Brilliant with the 3 fields and then imported the records from Excel. I know this can be done using recordset text formatting but the columns for each record are not aligned. I want to display the records using show message function and text formatting.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Location
    Philippines
    Posts
    105
    It is somethng like this
    [$items^rset |column1 | |column2| |column3|].

    But the column widths are not equal. I want equal column widths so that it will display like that of Excel

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Location
    Philippines
    Posts
    105
    I just reformatted my pc. I cant upload a sample file. I will try later

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Location
    Philippines
    Posts
    105
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	DISPLAY.jpg 
Views:	18 
Size:	14.7 KB 
ID:	16277

    Here is a sample show message display. I want the numbers to be aligned

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    132
    Provided Answers: 2
    you have to assign a max number of characters on name field (ex. 50).
    on format name field, use functionFSPC(N) where N is 50. This function will add spaces at the end of the text for the length of the text to be equal to N (50).

    Hope this work for you.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Location
    Philippines
    Posts
    105
    Thanks spyroot. This should work. I will try this later and will let you know

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Location
    Philippines
    Posts
    105
    I have a hard time here. I want to display the recordset entries from a folder in uniformly spaced columns. Any idea?

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •