Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Posts
    72

    Unanswered: combobox selection

    Hi everybody
    please help me on this
    after an item x is selected from a combobox,
    if the user again selects item x in the next record
    do the following
    message showing that this particular x item has already been selected previously
    don not allow the user to select item x

    any help is deeply appreciated

    thanks in advance

    Hemanth

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    out on a limb
    Posts
    13,692
    Provided Answers: 59
    so place some code in the combo box on click (or other event which expressly tests fro the presence

    or
    (dependign on how many rows in your combo box, popluate that combo box manually (instead of assiging the datasource as a query or tasble view) explicitly populate that combo when the form first loads, and remove the selected item as you enter a new row.
    I'd rather be riding on the Tiger 800 or the Norton

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Richmond, Virginia USA
    Posts
    2,763
    Provided Answers: 19
    What kind of scope are we talking about, here? If item X is selected, do you want it never to be selected again...ever? Do you want it never to be selected again on the same day? Do you want it never to be selected again when associated with another given Field value?

    An example of the last would be something like 'if employee John Smith has already taken the New Employee Orientation Class,' don't let that class be selected for John Smith again.

    Linq ;0)>
    Hope this helps!

    The problem with making anything foolproof...is that fools are so darn ingenious!

    All posts/responses based on Access 2003/2007

  4. #4
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Posts
    72
    Thank you Healdem and missinglinq for your posts


    my requirement is like this

    this is for creating invoices based on delivery challan numbers

    so once a delivery challan number is used to generate a invoice, the user should not be able to use the same delivery challan number again
    the delivery challan number is selected from a combobox

    thanks and regards
    Hemanth

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    out on a limb
    Posts
    13,692
    Provided Answers: 59
    how do you know what delivery channle numbers are still available
    do you pre allocate them
    do you generate them n the fly
    do they come from another table
    I'd rather be riding on the Tiger 800 or the Norton

  6. #6
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Posts
    72
    thank you healdem
    the flow is like this
    an order form captures all the data about an order
    once the order is processed and ready for delivery..
    an delivery challan is created
    a unique delivery challan number is created for every order no (partial delivery and full delivery of an order is taken care of)
    once the order is ready to be shipped.. the invoice is generated based on the delivery challan number
    thanks and regards
    the delivery challan number comes from a table
    Hemanth

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •