Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Feb 2014
    Posts
    42
    Provided Answers: 1

    Unhappy Answered: sybase Database is corrupted completely

    Hi All,

    In one of the Development env, we are facing any issue with the backups and as well the master db (actually corrupted),
    The error # 1105 is displayed . tried to work and fix it but no luck .
    when ever i try to get the sp_helpdb o/p , i am getting the following output

    1> sp_helpdb
    2> go
    Msg 1105, Level 17, State 2:
    Server 'ACC_SDS', Line 1:
    Can't allocate space for object 'sysqueryplans' in database 'master' because 'system' segment is full/has no free extents. If you ran out of space in syslogs, dump the transaction log. Otherwise, use ALTER DATABASE to increase the size of the segment.
    Msg 19206, Level 16, State 1:
    Server 'ACC_SDS', Procedure 'sp_autoformat', Line 331:
    syb_aux_expandbitmap(1): Execute immediate SQL failed. SQL statement is: INSERT #colinfo_af(colid,colname,usertype,typename,maxlen gth,autoformat,selected,selectorder,asname,mbyte) SELECT c.colid,c.name,t.usertype,t.name,0,0,0,0,c.name,0 FROM tempdb.dbo.syscolumns c,tempdb.dbo.systypes t WHERE
    c.id=1151790442 AND c.usertype=t.usertype
    (return status = 0)


    and also i tried to restore the master , but it got failed too. unable to restore the db from old backups as well.


    Any inputs to make the db correct and run the backups properly again .

    Thanks
    A Sybase DBA struggling now

  2. Best Answer
    Posted by rmajeti

    "Yes it got worked , able to extend the space and then restarted the env to make sure its working fine , while restarting got issue with backup server , but finally able to start it after analysis. and then i have initiated the backups and they are running fine

    Thanks for the solution and guidance."


  3. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Posts
    545
    Provided Answers: 4
    As far as your post goes, the master db doesn't seem corrupted. The error says the master database is pretty much full.
    You can try to extend it on the master device if there's room left on the device.
    If not, you can extend the masterdevice or create a new one:
    use master
    go
    disk resize name ='masterdevicename' , size='10G'
    then alter the db to add more space on this device
    alter database master
    on masterdevicename = "10240M"
    With the master database enlarged you will probably have enough room to at least execute the sp_helpdb command.

    If you get this to work again we can see what the problem is with your backups.
    I'm not crazy, I'm an aeroplane!

  4. #3
    Join Date
    Feb 2014
    Posts
    42
    Provided Answers: 1
    Thanks for the reply .

    The Master is built on 500 MB size only and off which only 75 MB is used to configure .

    name db_size owner dbid created status
    ---------------- ------------- ------- ------ ------------------ --------------------------------------------------------------------
    ARSystem 36192.0 MB ARAdmin 4 Jun 23, 2010 select into/bulkcopy/pllsort, ddl in tran, abort tran on log full
    ARSystem_Archive 1100.0 MB ARAdmin 5 Jun 23, 2010 no options set
    dbccdb 6200.0 MB sa 31515 Mar 19, 2010 select into/bulkcopy/pllsort
    master 75.0 MB sa 1 Mar 12, 2010 mixed log and data
    model 3.0 MB sa 3 Mar 12, 2010 mixed log and data
    sybsystemdb 3.0 MB sa 31513 Mar 12, 2010 mixed log and data
    sybsystemprocs 200.0 MB sa 31514 Mar 12, 2010 trunc log on chkpt, mixed log and data
    tempdb 2004.0 MB sa 2 Apr 27, 2015 select into/bulkcopy/pllsort, trunc log on chkpt, mixed log and data



    1> sp_helpdevice master
    2> go
    device_name physical_name description status cntrltype vdevno vpn_low vpn_high
    ----------- ----------------- -------------------------------------------------------------------------- ------ --------- ----------- ----------- -----------
    master /dev/md/rdsk/d403 special, dsync on, directio off, physical disk, 500.00 MB, Free: 415.00 MB 2 0 0 0 255999

    (1 row affected)
    dbname size allocated vstart lstart
    ----------- ------------- -------------------------- ----------- -----------
    master 13.00 MB Mar 12 2010 3:11PM 4 0
    model 3.00 MB Mar 12 2010 3:11PM 6660 0
    tempdb 4.00 MB Mar 12 2010 3:11PM 8196 0
    sybsystemdb 3.00 MB Mar 12 2010 3:11PM 10244 0
    master 12.00 MB Mar 12 2010 3:12PM 11780 6656
    master 50.00 MB Jan 23 2015 8:40AM 17924 12800

    (1 row affected)Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Capture.JPG 
Views:	3 
Size:	104.1 KB 
ID:	16321
    (return status = 0)



    could you please let me know what to do now ?
    Last edited by rmajeti; 04-29-15 at 14:05. Reason: attached image

  5. #4
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Posts
    545
    Provided Answers: 4
    Im not too goo at calculating the size using the vpn_low and vpn_high values, so I'll just assume the masterdevice is 500mb like you said.
    The total used space from the masterdevice is 85mb (add the sizes from the helpdevice-output), so that means you still have 415Mb left.

    Execute this command to extend the masterdb:
    alter database master on master='100M'
    Now you've added 100Mb to the masterdb, more than doubling it. You can now try to troubleshoot your backups again.
    If you get more errors saying the space in master is running low you can add more space to it, but 150Mb for a masterdb should be sufficient in most cases.

    Good luck
    I'm not crazy, I'm an aeroplane!

  6. #5
    Join Date
    Feb 2014
    Posts
    42
    Provided Answers: 1
    Thank for update will work on it and get back to you with the results

  7. #6
    Join Date
    Feb 2014
    Posts
    42
    Provided Answers: 1
    Yes it got worked , able to extend the space and then restarted the env to make sure its working fine , while restarting got issue with backup server , but finally able to start it after analysis. and then i have initiated the backups and they are running fine

    Thanks for the solution and guidance.

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •