Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    Join Date
    May 2015
    Posts
    4

    Smile Unanswered: How do you make the fields appear in the Comment/Record database

    Hi

    I know this seems like a really basic question but how do I make the fields appear in the Comments or Individual Records. I looked through all the sample forms and through the different tutorials but cannot seem to find out how to make the fields appear. Sorry it seems like such a basic question.

    Thanks so much

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Location
    Ireland
    Posts
    815
    Provided Answers: 17
    To make fields appear, you have to set Visibility Rules.
    For example, if the field "Name" is not empty, then the field "Address" is visible.

    See attached photo of where to click to get to Editor to set the rules.

    Regards
    James
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails visability.jpg  

  3. #3
    Join Date
    May 2015
    Posts
    4

    Fields in the Comments section

    Quote Originally Posted by Tubbritt View Post
    To make fields appear, you have to set Visibility Rules.
    For example, if the field "Name" is not empty, then the field "Address" is visible.

    See attached photo of where to click to get to Editor to set the rules.

    Regards
    James
    Hi James

    Thanks James. Thanks for the attached jpeg. However, that helps me control visibility of the various fields in the Form itself but I still can't seem to set control of the fields to appear in the "Comments" section in the folder. Appreciate further assistance? See attached thumbnail for the section I am sadly, unable to set the fields for.

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Comments without Title Field.jpg 
Views:	25 
Size:	118.6 KB 
ID:	16325

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Location
    Ireland
    Posts
    815
    Provided Answers: 17
    Your looking to set the text for what's inside the circle you outlined?

    If so, you only have to double click the word comments.

    Regards
    James

  5. #5
    Join Date
    May 2015
    Posts
    4

    Designing Reports

    Quote Originally Posted by Tubbritt View Post
    Your looking to set the text for what's inside the circle you outlined?

    If so, you only have to double click the word comments.

    Regards
    James
    Thanks James!

    How do I make static text appear in a report? Sorry I have so many basic questions! Cant seem to find those answers in the tutorials.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Location
    Ireland
    Posts
    815
    Provided Answers: 17
    In the Report designer, click the icon “A”.

    Regards
    James.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    May 2015
    Posts
    4
    Quote Originally Posted by Tubbritt View Post
    In the Report designer, click the icon A.

    Regards
    James.
    Thanks James! oops I forgot to add in the fact that I was trying to add in static text from my Form. I have about 200 questions (static text) with drop down list for answers. And several forms with this format to put into reports. How do I get those static text questions in my form to appear in the report without having to retype or copy and paste everything over?

    Thanks!

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Location
    Ireland
    Posts
    815
    Provided Answers: 17
    Hello.
    Sadly the answer is still the same.

    You cannot drop static text that's on a form onto a report the same way you can drop a field. You will actually have retype everything directly into the form, or copy and paste the raw text.

    Regards
    James.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •