Unanswered: VBA Delete Duplicates for 2 tables

Hello everyone,

I'm looking for your help because my database is swimming with duplicates and i haven't been able to dispose of them by using alternative methods such as using Criteria in Queries. So i have been obliged to use VBA which i have never used before.

I want to delete duplicates from 2 tables:
    - 011- Extraction FA ENSEMBLE
    - 010- ENSEMBLE before table

All my tables are bound by a Key which is called "Key". However this key is not enough in order to precisely deal with the duplicates. So in order to deal with them i suppose I have to create a subquery using the following field "MaxDeN°BL" (field which indicates the Package number of the last sent item).However, the records containing empty fields musn't be deleted !!

I gave it a shot with only one table with the following however it is my first time at trying VBA so it didn't work

DELETE FROM 011- Extraction FA ENSEMBLE
    WHERE Key <> (SELECT Min (Key) AS MinOfKey FROM 011- Extraction FA ENSEMBLE AS Dupe
    WHERE (Dupe.Key = 011- Extraction FA ENSEMBLE.Key)
    AND (Dupe.MaxDeN°BL = 011- Extraction FA ENSEMBLE.MaxDeN°BL));

Any help will be deeply appreciated !
    Last edited by Guy Winfield; 05-07-15 at 06:16.

Provided Answers: 59
    OK for me there are two issues here
    first and most important is diagnose why you are getting duplicates and designing those duplicates out of the system. whether you do that through primary keys, or unique indexes ( a primary key is also a unique index, there can be many unique indexes on a table,m but only EVER one primary key)

having fixed the root cause then its time to go through your data and remove the duplicates (whether you actually delete the duplicates or flag them as hidden is your design call. you could be a smart aleck and flag as hidden at first, then once you know the data is right delete 'em.