Scheduling Database Design

Good afternoon,

I am a novice when it comes to database programming, but I would like to implement my idea (that I'd like your input on), as a way to learn SQL databases.

Background:
    In my line of work, we have a small number of employees who visit customer sites, and at the moment, we schedule their work using an excel spreadsheet that is sent out by email to the employees each week. The spreadsheet is in the format of:
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	schedule layout.gif 
Views:	5 
Size:	23.4 KB 
ID:	16374
    This works fine, but there are a number of annoyances with this method.
    Firstly, any changes to the schedule after it is sent, are not visible to the employees when on the road.
    Secondly, if an employee changes their schedule, they cannot update the spreadsheet whilst on the road, and have to 'phone in' changes they have made.

The Idea:
    My idea is to create an SQL database to store the employee schedule information and a web front end to display it online.
    From my initial research into this, I believe I need to use SQL tables to include the following information:

• Employee Name
    • Date
    • Day of the Week
    • Morning Customer Name
    • Morning Work Type
    • Afternoon Customer Name
    • Afternoon Work Type
    • Any additional notes

I'm sure that there would be other useful data that could be included, such as holiday allowance etc. but this might be something I could incorporate at a later date, unless creating all fields at the beginning be a better way to do it?

I am quite happy programming a web front end, and reasonably happy with C#.net to populate the front end (once I have figured out how to put data into and out of the SQL database).

Any input you can give would be greatly appreciated.

Oliver