Answered: Simple VBA macro to copy records from one table to another

Hi!

I am a newbie here. I have some experience with Excel VBA, but Access is totally different. Could you please help me with the following?

I have two tables in my Access database, their fields are exactly the same. One is called Uncheched. The other one is called Checked.

So what is need is a macro that takes selected records in table Unchecked and copies them to the end of table Checked.

Thank you!

2. Best Answer
    Posted by Sinndho

"Use a query and have it run form a macro:

1. Create a query, switch to SQL View, and paste the following code (this only works if the structures of both tables are identical):
    Code:
    INSERT INTO Tbl_CheckEd
    SELECT * FROM Tbl_UnChecked;
    2. Execute the query directly or create a macro to execute the query or, in VBA:
    Code:
    Public Sub ExecQuery()

DoCmd.SetWarnings False
        DoCmd.OpenQuery "QueryName"
        DoCmd.SetWarnings True

End Sub
    Or:
    Code:
    Public Sub ExecQueryBis()

CurrentDb.QueryDefs("Query10").Execute dbFailOnError

End Sub
    Or (without Query object):
    Code:
    Public Sub ExecQueryTer()

Const c_SQL As String = "INSERT INTO Tbl_Checked SELECT * FROM Tbl_UnChecked;"

CurrentDb.Execute c_SQL, dbFailOnError

End Sub
    "

Provided Answers: 59
    why do you see the need to move the data between tables?
    instead modify your table design and create a column (filed if you prefer), call it, say, verified (boolean or yes/no datatype)
    then when you have checked the data set the value of the verified column/field to true

then when you need to see the data you have 3 choices
    show data that is:-
    checked (verified = true)
    unchecked (verified = false)
    either (verified not specified)
    ...that can be done by applying a filter on the form displaying the data
    I'd rather be riding on the Tiger 800 or the Norton