Question Unanswered: Migration SQL Server from Physical Host to VM

Hello,

it's my first time here, i need your help if you can

So we have:
    (1) one physical server :
    Active Directory, DNS, DHCP, File Server, Print Server and SQL Server 2005

and we will install new (2) two server for High Availability with VMware vSphere (ESXi) 6.0
    and we will have (2) two Virtual Machine :
    1st VM :
    Active Directory, DNS, DHCP

2nd VM :
    OS : Windows Server 2008 R2 (becaure SQL Server 2005 does not work with 2012 R2 link)
    SQL Server 2005 Service Pack 3

This is Schema description of what is want : Click image for larger version. 

Name:	SQL_Server.jpg 
Views:	2 
Size:	120.1 KB 
ID:	16422

My Question is : What is a safe method to Migrate Database's from Physical Host (Windows Server 2003) to 2nd VM ?
    Best Regards

Provided Answers: 54
    Quote Originally Posted by dzint View Post
    My Question is : What is a safe method to Migrate Database's from Physical Host (Windows Server 2003) to 2nd VM ?
    Going from SQL 2005 on the physical machine to SQL 2005 on the virtual machine is a simple backup-and-restore.

The only potential "gotcha" that I would expect is that the destination needs to be at the same patch level as the source, or at a later patch level. Windows Update is your friend!

-PatP
    In theory, theory and practice are identical. In practice, theory and practice are unrelated.

Question

Quote Originally Posted by Pat Phelan View Post
    Going from SQL 2005 on the physical machine to SQL 2005 on the virtual machine is a simple backup-and-restore.

The only potential "gotcha" that I would expect is that the destination needs to be at the same patch level as the source, or at a later patch level. Windows Update is your friend!

-PatP