Provided Answers: 1

Unanswered: Am I on the right track in designing this database?

Hello everyone,

I'm just learning how to create an Access database (really not much experience in databases at all) and I'm hoping that someone can take a look at my screenshot here and tell me if it appears that I'm on the right track with my design, or if I'm entirely missing the picture in how a database ought to be setup from the tables standpoint.

I've been trying to self-teach myself a bit here. So far, the general concepts I've found and am trying to implement is that tables shouldn't contain data already found in other tables, although there may be one or two fields that correspond (Primary key and foreign keys).

I believe I know basically what kind of data I need and I've tried to set it up in it's own tables to separate it out in an efficient manner, however i'm having some trouble with the relationships and understanding how they work. For example, I seem to be able to enter incorrect data in a field even though the field it's linked to has validation constraints on it.

I don't know if this screenshot is a good way to ask my question, but basically, from what you can infer from it, can you tell me if it looks like I've got the right idea on this at all?

Basically, it's an asset database that is intended to track the following:
    • General Equipment
    • What room the equipment is located in
    • What employee has the equipment
    • What phone extension the employee has
    • Other misc. phone/equipment/employee details

Click image for larger version. 

Name:	TableRelationships.PNG 
Views:	10 
Size:	38.8 KB 
ID:	16440

Thank you for your time and answers.
    Last edited by JDDellGuy; 07-11-15 at 15:31. Reason: Adjusted image location

Provided Answers: 23
    I don't see why an inventory item is tied to a phone#.

out on a limb
    Provided Answers: 59
    can an employee have more than one location and or more than one phone number