Question Answered: Display results of a selction criteria in a Report

Hello, I am new to access so please excuse my lack knowledge and terminology. I am looking to Open a Report, display A selection criteria form and then have the report display the results. I have created the selection form based on a query and the report itself. I know how to write the events to open the form, select the criteria and have the results reported on a report. However I want to open the report (not displayed at this point) then have it display the criteria form for selection and then display results from the selection form on the report. Any help would be greatly appreciated

2. Best Answer
    Posted by pbaldy

"I personally go the other way. I open a form, allow the user to enter criteria, then a button on the form opens the report. You can do it your way, but it's trickier. In the open event of the report, open the form using acDialog so code stops while the form is displayed. On the form, just hide it so it's available to the report, then you can close it in the close event of the report."

Provided Answers: 6
    I personally go the other way. I open a form, allow the user to enter criteria, then a button on the form opens the report. You can do it your way, but it's trickier. In the open event of the report, open the form using acDialog so code stops while the form is displayed. On the form, just hide it so it's available to the report, then you can close it in the close event of the report.
    Paul

Provided Answers: 59
    Id agree with the PBaldy's approach, especially if the parameters have to be used in a set of reports.
    I tend to use a (top level) form to call the reports, on that form are the current defaults
    if a user wants to change those defaults they do so through another form
    any form or report pulls the values it requires from the top level form
    to 'pull' a value into, say a report
    INSIDE the report
    Code: