Unanswered: problems with many to many relationships

I'm new to access and trying to build a table that stores our customers info as well as the buildings/rooms that they're the POC for. Plus info about our comm equipment in the rooms.

I have a many to many relationship between customers and buildings table. I use a main form for customers info and a subform for building name, which is unique.

I have a rooms table which I link to buildings using a one to many relationship. I'm having several problems trying to get it to work.

First off I have many different rooms with the same name that are associated to different buildings. If I have a field in rooms for a room name I'd have to have duplicate entries and that would make it confusing for my users. I have no idea how to avoid this.

Secondly I've tried to have building name and room name in the same subform, but as its on a different table I can't seem to get it to work. I need to be able to select the room name and have the building id table inserted into the building id field in the rooms table.

I really appreciate the help.

Provided Answers: 59
    Many tomany relationships in a RDBMS are usually implemented as two (or more) parent tables, and an intersection table which contains the specifics of that intersection. Sometimes thats just the primary keys of the 'parent' tables, but it can also include any data relevant to that intersection.

from what you have said so far id expect to see a table for:-
    Buildings
    Rooms (with a FĶ to buildings identifying what room is in what building)
    Customers
    (Possibly) types of equipment
    Models of equipment

...then an intersection table that identifies what equipment is in what room.

Where you have the FK to the customer is down to you. It could be at the building level, so selecting a customer, provides a list if buildings in a combo or list box, which in turn provides a list of rooms for that customer in that building