Unanswered: unwanted results when mapping xml fields to mysql

Newbie here and I have a painful xml file that has 38 fields. I'll list a few below;

Code:
    <shoes>
    <type>men</type>
    <num>13</num>
    <dept>2</dept>
    <city>la</city>
    <heading>nike</heading>
    <desc>this is the top model</desc>
    </shoes>
    The only fields I need are city, heading and desc. The other pain is the table I need to insert these into as it has around 22 fields and very moody. So when I try;

Code:
    LOAD DATA INFILE 'file.xml' //I cannot get it to accept LOAD XML 
    INTO TABLE `myTable` 
    FIELDS TERMINATED BY ','
    LINES TERMINATED BY '\r\n'
    IGNORE 1 LINES

(
    heading,descr,city
    )
    I get hundreds of rows and have to delete empty-rows, rows with a number, rows with junk data, and when I do get a row I can use, it only has the desc and no heading or city. If use just one field; desc, it kind of works but skips the city and heading. When I try including all 22 fields from myTable I get an empty set. So the issue is that I can't map these fields for some reason. I almost think myTable would take the data if I could define the fields such as;

Code:
    city='city',descr='descr',heading='heading'
    I've tried converting to JSON and other formats hoping for a better mapping without avail. I could change the xml file if I find a code that would work. For instance, I could just delete fields or whatever might work. But the myTable is wrapped with a php code and the fields etc can't be altered.
    Thanks

Provided Answers: 59
    have you tried LOAD XML
    I'd rather be riding on the Tiger 800 or the Norton

Yes, as indicated and commented // in my LOAD DATA line I cannot get myTable to accept LOAD XML. I wished I could

Its a while since Ive used load xml,....
    What error message did you get?