Thread: Relationships

Provided Answers: 3

Answered: Relationships

Hello,

I am a database newbie, we are making a database to track housing maintenance. We would like the database to be able to generate a report with upcoming maintenance items due based off of the Unit Number. I have created 5 tables with relationships as follows;

Click image for larger version. 

Name:	DBRelationships.PNG 
Views:	14 
Size:	20.2 KB 
ID:	16598

How do it get it working correctly? Please let me know if you require more information. Thanks in advance for your help...

Dave

2. Best Answer
    Posted by DFeil

"Cheers, thanks for the info, I will try again..."

Provided Answers: 59
    I don't think you have grasped the details of table design and relationships. Each table needs a unique key, which (in the absence of an obvious better item(s) can be an autonumber value). as a general rule don't repeat data (google nomalisation)
    in a relational database you can have several types of relationships, but in essence its usually a 'child' table should have the primary key each/any 'parent' table as a foreign key in its own table. Think of it as (parent) table has one or more (child) table rows. ferinstance:-