Question Unanswered: Backing up / restoring a 20GB database with images stored as binary code

Please excuse me as I am a beginner.

I am trying to backup and restore a 20GB SQL database from a SQL Server 2012 to another SQL Server 2014, but I have come across the following issues:

1) The developers [against best practice] have stored multiple images in fields within the database as binary code.

This therefore exceeds the 65532 character limit in some fields, so even though the images do show [based upon the data saved within this field], I cannot find the data in the field beyond this 65532 limit, within SQL Server.

How can I export / locate this data after the 65532 character limit?

2) When I have attempted to restore the database I am getting this error message:

Restore of database 'zapkam' failed. (Microsoft.SqlServer.Management.RelationalEngineTa sks)

Additional information:

System.Data.SqlClient.SqlError: RESTORE detected an error on page (1:1592996) in database "zapkam" as read from the backup set. (Microsoft.SqlServer.SmoExtended)

I have managed to restore two other smaller databases using the same technique, but am wondering if it's an issue with the database itself.

3) I have uploaded this database to the new server using FileZilla FTP Client, but it has cut out, painfully at 80% + 90% on a couple of occasions.

Is there a better solution for uploading these big files that I could possibly use please? For example, uploading table by table or similar...

Would be very grateful if anyone could shed light on any of these issues?

Thank you!

William

Provided Answers: 11
    It sounds like you may have a corrupt backup file. Run DBCC CHECKDB on your database to make sure the corruption is not in your current database as well. If the database is clean, get a new backup, and try to restore that one.