Hi,

I'm new to access, have been playing around with access 2013/16 over the last few days to see if I can do what I would like but have barely scratched the surface.

The company division I work for were going to implement Filemaker but as the larger company are going to introduce a wider db in the new year, the FM implementation has been canned.

That leaves us working from an excel sheet - which is shared on a network drive. Although, I'm no expert on excel either, I know that shared excel sheets are asking for trouble. Plus, some of the people who will use the sheet use unreliable wifi connections and mobile internet access. I just know we are asking for trouble.

I would like to set up an access database which I hear is better for sharing.

We have been tasked by our client to carry out works on several hundred of their sites. This work is carried out over several stages, sometimes all by us, sometimes just the latter part by us but these works are tracked by forecast and actual milestones. These are updated on a daily basis by a large tracker that is sent out - Shall call it the ABCT (ABC-Tracker). The ABCT is created by their in-house database system which in turn is manually fed by all their subcontractors (like us).

At the moment the excel sheet we use has four key components or inputs;
1. Static data - info that relates to the site - address, owner, postcode, clients responsible PM etc - at the moment this is VLOOKUP into the ABCT based on the site ID, although this info is obviously fixed so could be set if require, no need to keep the vlookup active.
2. Data from our own internal tracker, but is limited to internal job numbers (for finance tracking), so only two columns of data
3. VLOOKUPS into the ABCT for the milestones - as we and other subbies change this data it can change daily.