Unanswered: Is it time to move on from Access?

Hi All,

I have been thinking about this post for several days as I wanted to ensure I got all the details across without boring the pants off the reader! However, there really isn't a way to explain without writing a fairly long post, sorry!

I am not a database engineer, but I do have a software engineering degree.

I own a company which has grown over 5 years from 3 database users to 28 users.

I wrote an Access database, back end front end, some 5 years ago and have continued to add functionality as required. It has run my business very well and includes staff wages, invoicing, 3950 construction projects etc. I use queries, reports, forms and a lot of code behind the scenes.

I love the product, easy to use and I am fairly competent with the programming language.

But I am now getting a few problems, such as slow searches, occasional crashes and the database locking seems to get messed up sometimes. The database really needs to be rebuilt as the logical data model has a lot to be desired mainly because I have bodged many extra functions into the database over the years.

Due to rapid expansion, I now have upgraded to a top notch server running linux, with the 28 workstations all with windows OS. Just opened another office which I have set up a VPN to the server, but I do not seem to be able to get the front end to communicate through the VPN. The back end isn't as happy sitting on the Linux server and this shows up on the workstations by frequently losing connection over the network, but runs smoothly when I swap back to the old windows server. The back end file size is only 20Mb.

As an experiment I converted the back end to MY SQL. It seems to link perfectly with my Access front end, although I have not checked to see if this will solve the VPN connection problem.