Unanswered: Where to go next with a many-to-many relationship table?

Hi everyone,

I'm a self taught Excel junkie and I've been the go-to guy at work for the last couple years when it comes to fancy spreadsheets. I've recently been asked to develop an Access database because they have nobody else to ask, and I agreed to give it a shot. Prior to this project I've had no Access experience. One of the ways I gained proficiency in Excel was by taking apart and reverse engineering some fancy spreadsheets that were left by the previous resident Excel wizard; however I have no such references for Access. I've been googling a lot of beginner access stuff (took me a while to start thinking with a "database mindset" instead of my "spreadsheet mindset") and digging through these forums (you guys are really great and supportive community!) and I think I have the skeleton of the database I'm trying to create in place.

The database itself is to manage mandatory company training classes. I've created 3 basic tables: first is an employee table with id number, first and last name, and position; second is a positions table of all the positions our company has (relationship to the position field of the employee table); third is a training class table with the name of each class and how many days before the class must be taken again. Following advice from online, I created a 4th table to help create a many-to-many relationship, with an autonumber ID, employee ID number from the employee table, the class they need to take from the training class table, and a field to record the date completed.