A question about this ternary relationship

Hi,
    I'm not an expert, i'm just studing er modeling.
    On internet I found this example of ternary relationship
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	graphics10.png 
Views:	15 
Size:	21.7 KB 
ID:	16667

I think that this model doesn't allow a supplier to supply the same item for the same project in different dates.
    So i came to this modified version.
    What do you think?

Name:	ER_modified.PNG 
Views:	12 
Size:	30.5 KB 
ID:	16668

thanks

In the initial diagram, the date is an attribute of Supply but not a member of Supply's NK (Natural Key). There can't be a date conflict as long as it is only an attribute, so I think that the initial diagram is correct as published.

-PatP
    In theory, theory and practice are identical. In practice, theory and practice are unrelated.

hi, thanks for the reply.
    I'm confused.
    In the initial diagram the key of Supply is the combination of foreign key SID, Code and PartID (so the tern must be unique) and therefore cannot exist another tuple with the same key and different date.
    Last edited by Liuk; 12-16-15 at 06:16.

Thumbs up

The first diagram is correct.

You have three entities: Supplier, Project and Part and Supply is making the relationship. Supply has the two attributes, data and Quantity. so this model this model allow a supplier to supply the same item for the same project in different dates because date is the attribute of supply not supplier.

But the Supply relationship, as i can read from the relational schema below the diagram, has the tern SID, Code and PartID as its own primary key, and the primary key must be unique. what you say it's true if the SUPPLY relationship had no such key.

Yes, it is possible.
    These three keys are worked as the foreign key for supply.

I think the point here is the interpretation of the primary key for the junction table SUPPLY.

Here are some examples of what i mean:

Name:	DataRepresentation_tomjewett.PNG