Unanswered: Dlookup in expression returns a #error

Hi guys,

I'm sorry I know this has been posted about a lot, but I'm tearing my hair out and I don't really understand this one.

Fair to say I'm an Access newbie this year - I'm trying to build a system which can read student results and assign their alphanumeric grade a number in order to help with grade calculation.

I have 1 table, MFL Data, which contains all of the student data. A second table LevelCalc contains the equivalences needed for the calculations.

I a separate form, Student_Screen_French, where results are to be displayed I have a textboxes to represent some of the student information, including their Listening grade. I want the textbox below, using an expression, to calculate the numeric equivalence.

I have entered, as an expression:

=DLookUp("LevelVal","LevelCalc","[LevelCalc]![Level] = " & [Form]![Term 1 Listening])

to the best of my understanding, this seeks to display FIELD 'Level Val' (numerical value) FROM table 'LevelCalc' WHERE 'Level' in 'LevelCalc' is equal to 'Term 1 Listening' on the form. The textbox outputs a #Error, and I can't figure out why.

Additional information: The form recordset is already subject to some criteria in its select statement, so is limited to just one specific student (and thus record) at a time.

Any thoughts?

Many thanks,

Simon

Provided Answers: 1
    Hi

I think thing you need this
    Code:
    =DLookUp("LevelVal","LevelCalc","Level = " & [Form]![Term 1 Listening])
    The criteria argument should have the Field name only. The table name is not required as it is specified in the second argument.

Also if [Level] is not numeric you need to include text delimiters like this
    Code:
    =DLookUp("LevelVal","LevelCalc","Level = '" & [Form]![Term 1 Listening] & "'")
    HTH

MTB

Provided Answers: 59
    string values should, as MiketheBike suggests be delimited with a pair of ' or " symbols.