Unanswered: scheduling a stored procedure without sql agent

Hi, I'm developing a database for a newly form company and I'm still a student. I have a stored procedure I want to be executed on a daily basis, I understand that I need to do scheduling but I'm unclear on how to deal with it. Can anyone give me pointers or show me how to do this?

Provided Answers: 54
    The "without SQL Agent" is a much harder nut to crack. Using SQL Agent, this takes a minute or two. Doing without SQL Agent is possible, and for an experienced DBA it could be done in a day but for a new DBA it will take more than a week to create the infrastructure that you need which is provided as part of SQL Agent.

Using the SQL Agent:
    1. Use SSMS (SQL Server Management Studio)
    2. Connect to the SQL Instance that has the stored procedure that you want to schedule
    3. Click on the SQL Agent
    4. Right Click on the Jobs container, then pick New Job
    5. Provide a name for the new job
    6. Change the owner of the job to sa
    7. Click on the Steps container
    8. Click New Step
    9. Enter the name of the new step
    10. Change the database from master to the one where the stored procedure ought to run.
    11. Enter the Transact-SQL needed to run your procedure
    12. Click Ok
    13. Click on the Schedules container
    14. Click the New button
    15. Name your schedule
    16. Fill out the remainder of the dialog based on when/how you want your procedure to run
    17. Click the Ok button to save the new Schedule
    18. Click the Ok button to save the new Job
    19. Test, then Celebrate!