Doubt on conceptual design of a database

Im an Italian student. My computer teacher assigned me a homework, the design of a database, but according to him, my solution is wrong. Id like to know your opinion about this.

Suppose a firm needs a database in order to manage the credits related to its clients. What is the best relationship between the table CREDITS and the table CLIENTS? According to my teacher is N:N, why?

1 client has many credits. (not sure what N:N is) 1:M

out on a limb
    you can have multiple customers
    you can have multiple credits

a customer can have one or more credits

when implementing a many to many realtionship in a realtionsl database you quite often do this via an intersection table
    a table for customers /* holds details of customers (eg org name)
    a table for credits /*holds detaisl of credits (nto to sure I'd do it this way in the real world
    a table for customers_credits /*holds details of credits allocated to customers.

I guess it depends what 'credits' is meant to represent. it could be academic credits ir could be financial credits.

if financial I'd expect a credit to be allocated to a specific transaction in the ledger AND to any relevant invoice(s). you'd need to see what settlements have been made on what invoices and from that understand what the outstanding balance on the customer account is.
    I'd rather be riding on the Tiger 800 or the Norton

The credits are financial, because they are related to a firm. I thought the relationship 1:N (N stands for more units, it's the same of 1:M) was the most reasonable. My teacher imposed me a relationship M: M between CUSTOMERS and CREDITS (with a resulting join table PAYMENTS), but it's a solution that I find very problematic.