Unanswered: How to store the attachments externally from the DB

Hi guys,

I'm new to Access and to DB in general. I'm trying to build a simple DB, which main purpose is to store and display the PNG and JPEG files for each record.

I built the below form. My issue is how to store the attachments. I've read somewhere that the db's max size is 2 GB. That's why I need the attachments to be stored externally form the DB, but still to be shown in the form. I also need to open them easily from the form in their full size. Each record has minimum 2 attachments.

Click image for larger version. 

Name:	DB Form.jpg 
Views:	11 
Size:	281.0 KB 
ID:	16713

If needed I can send the db file.

Thank you in advance!

Provided Answers: 8
    If i was doing it I would just store the The File name in the database
    storing the Images will blot the database

in the Event On Current

point the Image Object to the Feild hold the FileName

by the way the Screen look nice
    hope this help

See clear as mud

StePhan McKillen
    the aim is store once, not store multiple times
    Remember... Optimize 'til you die!
    Progaming environment:
    Access based on my own environment: DAO3.6/A97/A2000/A2003/A2007/A2010
    VB based on my own environment: vb6 sp5
    ASP based on my own environment: 5.6
    VB-NET based on my own environment started 2007
    SQL-2005 based on my own environment started 2008
    MYLE
    YOUR PASSWORD IS JUST LIKE YOUR TOOTHBRUSH DON'T SHARE IT.

Provided Answers: 59
    there's several issues to address
    1) as Myle say store the filename of the image, and assign it/them to an image control/s in the forms on current event, or a command button to load pictures on request. it helps if you have an image not found image so that that you can set an error handler and dispay that if there is no image