Thumbs up Unanswered: .RDB Database at Maximum Capacity: Options for the future?

Hello,

I was very happy to stumble across this community. My background is a Cisco network administrator with intermediate Python and Linux scripting abilities. I am looking to shift my focus to databases. The organization I work for uses a software program called Resumate to store a database of resumes for human resources purposes. The program interface looks as follows, and the data is stored in .RDB format:
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	resumate.png 
Views:	8 
Size:	152.4 KB 
ID:	16748

From my understanding, this .RDB database is an Access database. We have three separate databases in use, but the main issue we are experiencing is that our primary database has reached maximum capacity (1GB). The secondary issue we have is the time it takes to process the more complex searches from client machines -- the .RDB files are hosted on our network file server, and the larger database files are getting to the point that there is a 50/50 chance of the Resumate client crashing before finishing a query.

What I would ideally like to do is combine all of our databases and build a web or application GUI with a similar layout and functionality as Resumate. Being a novice, this will undoubtedly be an ongoing process, but any suggestions into which database solution would offer us optimum performance and ease of configuration will be greatly appreciated. I was thinking MySQL might be a good option but I am not sure. Also, what would be the easiest way to mimic the Resumate GUI for this purpose?

Thanks for the advice and suggestions!!

Provided Answers: 19
    Maximum file size for Access databases has been 2 GB since 2000 (maybe even earlier...can't remember) and .RDB has never been an Access file extension!