Question Answered: MS sql 2014 standard version and high availability in virtualization

Dear All,

Im new to database and designs. Im looking for few clarifications, appreciate if you can help.

I have MS SQL 2014 standard edition version installed as virtual machine and it is working fine. We do have a ORacle DB and there is an integration done between ORacle DB and MS SQL, for example MS sql is pulling certain info from oracle database tables and MS sql is pushing some data to certain tables in oracle too.

Now i would like to implement HA by providing 1 more MS SQL server, my queries are below.

1. Im using MS SQL 2014 standard edition, what is the level of HA/clustering i can achieve - Active/active or active/passive ?

2. current MS sql DB server is a virtual machine, can i take a copy of this and copy it on a separate VM to make it work or do i need to install from scratch ?

3. suppose my IP address for the current SQL db is 192.168.1.10, can i change this IP as VIP and assign another IP's to both VM without much issues ?

Thanks.
    Binoy

2. Best Answer
    Posted by MCrowley

"1) You may set up a 2-node Failover Clustered Instance (FCI) with Standard Edition. This will require a great deal of reading, and bringing up 2 new VMs, with specific storage and network requirements. These two machines will then manage a single IP address for the FCI, which will be an active-passive instance.

2) You can copy the database to another machine, but that copy will rapidly become stale. You can also try to implement Log Shipping, but this is used more for Disaster Recovery, rather than High availability, as there will be many manual steps involved in getting the second instance to accept database requests.

3) Maybe, but SQL Server does not act like Oracle's RAC. Load balancing is still not a thing in SQL Server."

Provided Answers: 11