Answered: Cant connect to DB with new User

i am new in working with DB2 (Express-C 10.5). I just installed the DB an so far everything is working fine. Because I don´t think its a good idea to work with the instance user i wanted to add a new Database and a User, which hast only access to this DB. I am working on Linux so I created a new User on OS Level and set a password via the root account. Than I created a new DB and connected to it with the instance User. After that i granted CONNECT TO DATABASE to the new User. Than I reset the connection and tried to CONNECT with the new user but i get an error that Username or Password are incorrect. I tried to connect to the new DB with the instance User, which works fine. Can anyone help me what i am doing wrong? (I checked Username and password several times. They are correct)

2. Best Answer
    Posted by db2mor

"Give *full* details of your distro, is it RedHat Enterprise Linux, SuSe, Unbuntu , Centos and then give the distro version.

Keep all the user-names and group names in lowercase in your operating-system (inside DB2 they will all be folded to uppercase unless you double-quote them)."

Provided Answers: 16
    Check the restrictions on the length of the account-name, the length of the passwords, and whether the account-name or pasword has any special characters. Try short simple userid/password also to eliminate this.

Provided Answers: 59
    does DB2 accept authentication from *NIX user accoutns or do they also need to be declared within the DB itself?
    I'd rather be riding on the Tiger 800 or the Norton

Are you studying the documentation in the on-line knowledge center? By default, DB2 will get Linux to authenticate, but DB2 has some restrictions per my previous post.

Quote Originally Posted by db2mor View Post