Provided Answers: 4

Answered: automate DDL and DML, Rails migrate vs Liquibase

Hi,

We are looking for a way to automate and streamline the process of deploying DDL and DML scripts to different databases - Development, test, acceptance and production - for SSIS development (ETL, XML-processing, ...).

I have some experience with Ruby on Rails, and I did like its "migrations". I went looking for a way to use it as a stand alone solution.
    While doing so, I saw a reference towards Liquibase.

What tool do you use to manage this kind of database activities? Pro's cons?
    With kind regards . . . . . SQL Server 2000/2005/2012
    Wim

Grabel's Law: 2 is not equal to 3 -- not even for very large values of 2.
    Pat Phelan's Law: 2 very definitely CAN equal 3 -- in at least two programming languages

2. Best Answer
    Posted by Pat Phelan

"For that scale, I'd recommend Octopus Deploy. See https://octopus.com/ for more information.

You may be able to use the Community Edition, which is free. If not, you can purchase additional capacity/functionality at https://octopus.com/purchase

-PatP"

No one?

Seems the question has left the forum speechless.
    Wim

Pat Phelan's Law: 2 very definitely CAN equal 3 -- in at least two programming languages

Provided Answers: 54
    I do six quite different kinds of migrations using three different tools. My problem isn't that I have no answer, I have too many!

Simple solution, one developer, three environments (Dev, UAT, Prod): SSMS

Moderate solution: six to twenty developers, four environments (Developer, Scratch Build, QA, Prod): a mix of SSMS and a deployment manager.

Complex solutions: twelve to fifty developers, six environments (Developer, Group, Scratch Build, QA, UAT, Prod) deployment manager working strictly from the repository.

So which level of complexity are you envisioning?

-PatP
    In theory, theory and practice are identical. In practice, theory and practice are unrelated.

Hi Pat,