Unanswered: Creating a range of Dates in Date/Time formatting

Hello, Everyone!

This is my first question. I'm currently working on a database and I want to include a Field for years active. I'm having trouble creating a yyyy format that would allow for both ranges. I'm a student in my first databases class. I don't know a lot about access yet and I want to make my database stand out; this is above and beyond the project requirments.

My hopes would be that the field would look like this (2007-Present) or (2007-2016) to be in each cell. I'm assuming the formatting would look like yyyy - yyyy but it doesn't work for some reason. I want to keep the formatting as Date/Time.

The current input mask that I am using is "("0000\-0000")";0;_

I have searched all over google and the access help function to no avail. Maybe I'm not searching for the appropriate terms.

Anything that could point me in the right direction or any help would be greatly appreciated!

Thank you!
    Last edited by pc8807; 05-14-16 at 22:56.

Provided Answers: 59
    Databases separate the storage of information from the presentation. So part of the problem is how you store the data. Part of it is how you present the data. A prime example of this is dates and times. Dbs tend to store dates as a number, but depending on what / how you use the date / time data they can represrnt that ass, say 16 May 2016 12:34:56, or 2016/5/16 12:34 PM or May 2016, or just 2016