Answered: Access - Button Issue

Good morning people,

So, I'm currently building a basic database for work and have came across a strange issue. (Please bare in mind, I'm still learning).

I've created a button using the Wizard supplied by Access. It's the following selectable...

Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Capture.PNG 
Views:	10 
Size:	13.6 KB 
ID:	16905

So, as you can see I have highlighted the Find Record as that's the button I'm trying to create (it's created in Visual Basic so I literally don't even know why it's going wrong if I were to read it).

When I open my form in a normal view, everything is fine and the button works perfectly. When I assign a button to open the same form in a Dialog view (which I prefer dramatically) it gives me this error message:
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Capture2.PNG 
Views:	7 
Size:	3.9 KB 
ID:	16906

I can't figure it out, can someone please give me a hand!

Thanks in advance!

2. Best Answer
    Posted by Missinglinq

"In the Form to be opened, go to (Properties - Other) and set Popup and Modal to Yes...this is what happens when you open a Form in Dialog Mode.

Now go back to the button code for opening the Form and change acDialog to
    acWindowNormal.

The Form should now open in 'Dialog Mode' (Popup = Yes/Modal = Yes) and the Find button should now function...did for me in testing!

Linq ;0)>"

Provided Answers: 24
    Its possible the FIND button needs a recordset on the form to actually do the 'find'.
    Does your form have records bound to it?

or
    the wizard is hosed and wont work here. (I seen this too)

Quote Originally Posted by ranman256 View Post
    Its possible the FIND button needs a recordset on the form to actually do the 'find'.
    Does your form have records bound to it?

or
    the wizard is hosed and wont work here. (I seen this too)
    First off many thanks for the reply, it's appreciated!