High level concept discussion

Hi all,

Just need a general high level discussion to see if my thoughts are 1. workable 2. practical and 3. if there are better alternatives.

Firstly my background is in project management, so whilst I am by no means technical I do have a minor understanding when it comes to databases, networks, communications etc.

Secondly, my latest muse/project is hampered by budget i.e. there isn't one and hence will more than likely be built by myself. Historically I have built and worked with a lot of access databases, plus also used and maintained sql databases (although have always had a DBA to build, deploy, upgrade etc.). I am willing to learn new systems however the reward has to be evident to warrant the effort I will have to put in. Confident with vba, stored procedures, php, you get the idea - all the basic stuff and none of the trained highly technical stuff.

So on with the project. Looking to create what I refer to as a star system whereby the master db is located at head office, this updates or creates local databases for branches, and users interact with their closest db through a hand held device (more than likely some android based app but that doesn't need to be specified just yet).

Fairly simple so far, however the user interaction isn't just for reviewing, it will also be for updating so I end up looking at a diagram whereby updates to the underlying data can enter the system at multiple points and could conceivably conflict or duplicate. Easy to resolve in a modern connected world where data can be instant but I have some locations that have no connectivity to the outside world and will rely on manual updates - hence the issue.

I am reminded of a MS Access solution which I helped to develop back in 1997, which had three installations around the world and would ftp updates to the master destination as configured and then ultimately publish if it was a publishing site.