Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Smile Time-based entries/queries

Hello,

I have a design related question for time entries. This question is independent of a particular database. Mostly just the concept itself...

Let's say for example that I have an inventory table with a SKU column, PRICE column, and QUANTITY column.
    The PRICE column and QUANTITY column will constantly change values and I would want to be able to query a graph of those values over time for each SKU.

I thought about creating another table with the time-stamps of all changes, but it seems to me inefficient for queries because the table could be very big with multiple changes every day on a lot of material. I'm also wondering if there is a database system that logs the history of each change in value. There will also be a lot more values changing that need to be queried, not just these three.

I am completely new to the world of databases, I'm trying to implement a system for a small business and I'm wondering where to go from here in terms of design.

Main Questions:
    1. How would most people setup this particular example?
    2. Do time-based databases exist that log historical change?

Thank you.

Most designs would not store an actual value (quantity) for stock.
    Normally you apply transactions and then derive the stock on hand.
    Iv seen desugns tgat gave periodic stockcounts to tie in with financial auditing or just better operational stock.
    In principle they are all the same technique
    All sum transactions in a specific period
    If you do stock counts run thd transactions from the last count.
    If you needto know stock at a specific point in time sum transactiobs upto that time.
    You need to model what transactions are ie those that add to stock (supplier deliveries, customer returns, production), things that detract ftom stock customer sales, supplier returns, qc reject, wastage, shrinkage etc...