Unanswered: New Database Created but needs help with extra Features

Hello,

I'm not an expert at MS Access but I have some experience with making DB in the past using Access. As it currently stands the DB I created is pretty much just a digital version of a paper form. I've implemented it just to start storing data while i continually improve the features and functionality over time.

One of the things I need to do is to track when and who is accessing what record. The problem with that Is although we are on the same network we dont have any real microsoft user id or like most large corporations with roaming Microsoft ID. We all are ostensibly the same user just on different computers, so any automation or convenience that MS access or the vba code would be able to take from account info most likely won't.

Because of this I would like to force users to enter their initials, the date, and what they did when they accessed the record. I'd like a form with these fields to be dispalyed when a user tries to close the main form in the database. This would hopefully force the user to enter in who they are, date & time, and the reason for accessing the record. I figure the date and time part might be able to be autofilled but the initials field & Work Done field to be filled by the user.

Any hints or suggestions?

Thanks in advance.

PS im on windows 10 running access 2007

Provided Answers: 59
    Get the network userif user the api calls from dev ashish... google it
    Google allen browne for help on an audit trail
    I'd rather be riding on the Tiger 800 or the Norton

That looks like something i can use but at the moment we arent using a typical domain & user environment. At the moment my coworkers and I are essentially just connected to the same lan but are working out of a local accounts with the same user ID.