Question Unanswered: Using a table as a 'dictionary' to numerically define strings

Hi all,

I've got a problem which is probably quite an easy one to fix or at least suggest some ideas for.

I'm a teacher working with National Curriculum levels - students get their results in the form of 3a, 5c etc. (so a string)

In order to analyse these (averages, weightings etc.) I therefore obviously need to assign these a numerical value to tell the db which is worth more than which.

I've therefore made a simple table with each grade possible and it's numerical equivalence. My question is, is there a way to easily collect each student's numerical performance in EACH SKILL.

For example, if a student has different results in Listening, Reading, Writing and Speaking, how can I use this one table to look up a numerical value for each separately? I've tried using a select query with an inner join between the main results table and the equivalences table, but this falls down when I need to use the same equivalence table multiple times in the same query to find the numerical equivalence of each separate grade.

The only solution I've found is to query each skill separately (so 15 queries in all!) and then make a final query which takes just the numerical output from each, so that these are all in one place together. I can then use recordset loops etc. to do the calculations I need to do. This does work, but I can't help feeling there should be an easier way to do this which is more efficient... Maybe using a union query? I don't know enough about them to know if that is the way forward, really.

Thanks so much for any thoughts or ideas you might have - I'm learning a lot from you guys so thanks!

Provided Answers: 59
    without knowing your table design this sort of question is impossible to answer

is it possible, almost certainly
    is it possible with your current design who knows.
    ..but it should be dooable with a good normalised table design