Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 19
  1. #1
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Posts
    386

    Unanswered: My Access Database Keeps Crashing while a Copy of the Same Database on other PCs Work

    I really hope someone kind enough would help me solve this problem.
    Basically, we have a Front End Access Database and 4 of us use it on 4 seperate PCs. Each one of us have separate copy of the Same Database and we all use same backend on our server.
    On three PCs when we start the database, they do close now and again but once we are logged in then it stays on with no problem. However, on one PC which is also windows 7 professional with access 2010, as soon as we start the database, and work on it for lets say 5 minutes, it crashes. It happens
    when I want to raise an invoice. However, it never closes if I raise an invoice on any other PC using the same Front End.

    Below is the Error Message when I wanted to view the error:
    Problem signature:
    Problem Event Name: APPCRASH
    Application Name: MSACCESS.EXE
    Application Version: 12.0.4518.1014
    Application Timestamp: 4542815c
    Fault Module Name: StackHash_d155
    Fault Module Version: 6.1.7601.18247
    Fault Module Timestamp: 521ea8e7
    Exception Code: c0000374
    Exception Offset: 000ce753
    OS Version: 6.1.7601.2.1.0.256.48
    Locale ID: 2057
    Additional Information 1: d155
    Additional Information 2: d1559930fe71ce1052f357b32928b16e
    Additional Information 3: 7edf
    Additional Information 4: 7edf2bf1a85af99cde8c07a6d1ff71c9

    Read our privacy statement online:
    http://go.microsoft.com/fwlink/?link...8&clcid=0x0409

    If the online privacy statement is not available, please read our privacy statement offline:
    C:\Windows\system32\en-US\erofflps.txt

    You would save my life for sorting this out please!!!
    Emi-UK
    Love begets Love, Help Begets Help

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    out on a limb
    Posts
    13,692
    Provided Answers: 59
    if it works fine on 3 devices, but crashes on the other, then its almost certainly a corruption issue. my guess is a corruption of the Access/ Office installation
    I'd rather be riding on the Tiger 800 or the Norton

  3. #3
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Posts
    386
    Hi Healdem,
    Thank you for your response. I did reinstall Access and installed again but having still the same issue?
    Emi-UK
    Love begets Love, Help Begets Help

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Richmond, Virginia USA
    Posts
    2,763
    Provided Answers: 19
    Quote Originally Posted by Emal View Post

    Basically, we have a Front End Access Database and 4 of us use it on 4 seperate PCs. Each one of us have separate copy of the Same Database and we all use same backend on our server.
    So...each user has a copy of the Front End on his/her PC? They're not, by chance, copying the File from a shared drive to their machine and then opening Access?

    Have you tried copying the Front End file from a working machine then using it to replace the errant copy?

    The situation not only smells of corruption, but smells of corruption of a certain type, i.e. corruption caused by sharing a Front End in a multi-user environment!

    Linq ;0)>
    Hope this helps!

    The problem with making anything foolproof...is that fools are so darn ingenious!

    All posts/responses based on Access 2003/2007

  5. #5
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Posts
    386
    Hi Missingling,
    Thank you for your resopnse.
    So...each user has a copy of the Front End on his/her PC?
    Yes,
    They're not, by chance, copying the File from a shared drive to their machine and then opening Access?
    No

    Have you tried copying the Front End file from a working machine then using it to replace the errant copy?
    Yes

    from the error prodcued by that PC, which i have shared on this post, can you think of a solution?
    Emi-UK
    Love begets Love, Help Begets Help

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    out on a limb
    Posts
    13,692
    Provided Answers: 59
    It may not just be an access / office installation. Admittedly not an office product we had issues with a specific PC running a specific pieve of software. It turned out we had a rogue system DLL.
    I'd rather be riding on the Tiger 800 or the Norton

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Mar 2015
    Posts
    38
    Provided Answers: 1
    I would take a look at the task manager and see if you are running out of resources on the machine with the problem. A second issue might be something running that is not playing well with other program's. As in overwriting memory. Anyway check the add-ins installed. And keep an eye on you task manager see if you have a miss behaving app.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Feb 2014
    Posts
    11
    Hi,

    Can you post the code with one you try to copy the FE database ?

    Argy

  9. #9
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Posts
    386
    Can you please let me know what rogue System DLL I shouild look for and where?
    Emi-UK
    Love begets Love, Help Begets Help

  10. #10
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Posts
    386
    Hi, It is the same code that works on all other 3 PCs with same office i.e. office 2007 and office 2010. we tried them with both offices and it still crashes as soon as you click on any button.
    Emi-UK
    Love begets Love, Help Begets Help

  11. #11
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Posts
    386
    Could anyone please help on this?
    Emi-UK
    Love begets Love, Help Begets Help

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Feb 2014
    Posts
    11
    Quote Originally Posted by Emal View Post
    Could anyone please help on this?
    Hi,

    There is a lot of month ago, I asked you :
    Quote Originally Posted by Argyronet View Post
    Can you post the code with one you try to copy the FE database ?
    Such as you ask it, if you want some help, post your code...

    Argy

  13. #13
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Posts
    386
    Which particular code you would like to share as it is not based on any specific form or button, basically after every few minutes the database closes regadleess of what action you take i.e.which button you click on or which form you close or open.
    Emi-UK
    Love begets Love, Help Begets Help

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Feb 2014
    Posts
    11
    Quote Originally Posted by Emal View Post
    Which particular code you would like to share as it is not based on any specific form or button, basically after every few minutes the database closes regadleess of what action you take i.e.which button you click on or which form you close or open.
    Hi,

    Oops, sorry I undestood that the crash was raised when you tried to copy the database.

    Humm, it is not easy to find why the behavior occurs...

    • Do you have the same version the both computers (application Version: 12.0.4518.1014)
    • Did you tried to open the database application in local debug mode (such as F8 with Stop instructions and breakpoints) to try to find the concerned procedure/function which raise this behavior ?
    • Did you tried to compile the frontend database from the concerned PC ?

  15. #15
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Posts
    386
    Hi, to answer your questions please see my response below

    1. yes
    2. no i did not, and I am sure there are some debug issues which are not important for us as this database works perfectly fine on all other pcs.
    3. yes, several times but it would not make a difference.
    Emi-UK
    Love begets Love, Help Begets Help

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •