Unanswered: New to Oracle Programming?

I am new to Oracle programming and I'm in the process of writing a new and simple query. However, I'm getting an error that I don't know how to resolve. Just not sure what I'm doing wrong. I have attached a screenshot.
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Oracle_Query.jpg  

Provided Answers: 11
    A fair bit of time, the syntax error is not with the line that is highlighted, but the line before. Looking at the line before, it seems you have a bit of a dangling statement. What are you opening the records for?

I'm not exactly sure what that 'Open' statement is doing. I kinda copied all the code except the query from another query. All I'm trying to do is return a set of data that will populate a DataGridView in a VB.Net application.

Provided Answers: 11
    OK, so if you remove that line, what happens?

I still got an error...

See Image
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Oracle_Query.jpg  

Provided Answers: 1
    You need to spend some time googling the error message & reading up on it, & then you'll understand why you have the error. Another thread from this forum will help you get started....

http://www.dbforums.com/showthread.p...se-is-expected

(The error codes are useful, so use them! You're not the first one who's new to programming, and you're not the first one to get an error - there are many articles on the internet that will tell you how to resolve them, just google the error code and/or error message. By all means ask if you're stuck, but don't be afraid to try working it out for yourself first )
    Last edited by cis_groupie; 08-31-16 at 04:08.
    90% of users' problems can be resolved by punching them - the other 10% by switching off their PCs.

I figured it out. Not sure why it made a difference but I put the "Open" statement within the IF statement and that work.