Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: DB replication

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Posts
    39

    Unanswered: DB replication

    Hi DBA's,

    I need little guidance.
    I am having a requirement in which I have to replicate the data of 1 DB into the other DB.
    For example, Let say we have two DB's(A&B). So, If I create a table in DB A then it should be automatically created in DB B.

    Is there any method to implement it.

    Basic info:
    Env : LUW
    DB2 V : DB2 V9.7/10.1/10.5

    Thanks in advance

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jul 2016
    Location
    Moscow
    Posts
    108
    Provided Answers: 13
    Hi,

    You can start with DDL Replication.
    Regards,
    Mark.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Posts
    39
    Quote Originally Posted by mark.bb View Post
    Hi,

    You can start with DDL Replication.
    Hi,

    Can I use Replication using putty?
    Because everywhere I read that it can be implemented by using DB2 control center only.

    Regards

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jul 2016
    Location
    Moscow
    Posts
    108
    Provided Answers: 13
    Quote Originally Posted by japs1988 View Post
    Hi,

    Can I use Replication using putty?
    Because everywhere I read that it can be implemented by using DB2 control center only.

    Regards
    Yes, you can.
    ASNCLP command-line program
    Regards,
    Mark.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Posts
    39
    Quote Originally Posted by mark.bb View Post
    ok, 1 more thing..I am going through the link which you have shared. Here they have used the term "standby". So, I just wanted to know In Replication will both DB's will be online..I mean whether user will be able to access both the DB's?

    Thanks

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jul 2016
    Location
    Moscow
    Posts
    108
    Provided Answers: 13
    Quote Originally Posted by japs1988 View Post
    Here they have used the term "standby". So, I just wanted to know In Replication will both DB's will be online..I mean whether user will be able to access both the DB's?
    Where did you see this term exactly?
    All the databases are online during the replication process.
    Regards,
    Mark.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    48
    Provided Answers: 3
    My first question on reading your post was what are your plans with this replicated database? Do you want a standby? Do you want the multiple versions of your database active for use?
    By your last question, sounds like you want both active for some reason. With both active, do you want changes from B reflected in A as well? Also, you just mention DDL being replicated from A to B. What about DML?
    Be a little more descriptive about what you are wanting to do with replication and we can offer better options/advice.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •