Provided Answers: 2

Question Answered: Update Global Temporary Table (Sample code provided)

I have been working in T-SQL for many years and need to transition to DB2. I'm finding the syntax is different in many areas so I'm trying to adjust and become better acclimated with this. I can not get my code to Update a temporary table. I am supplying a sample code just for sake of an example. Can someone please advise where I am going wrong with this? I am only using 2 tables just to make it simple as to what I am trying to accomplish as my real code has many other ways I need to update data.

I keep getting an error at the FROM part.

Code:
    DECLARE GLOBAL TEMPORARY TABLE SESSION.TEST_TABLE
    (
    TMP_TIME	TIMESTAMP(6)	,
    TMP_ORDER_ID	INTEGER,
    TMP_PRIORITY_CODE	CHARACTER(8
    ) 
    ON COMMIT PRESERVE ROWS not logged with replace;

insert into SESSION.TEST_TABLE 
    select distinct
    ORDER_TIME,
    ORDER_ID,
    NULL
    from
    TABLE 1
    where 
    ORDER_TIME between '8/1/2016' and '8/3/2016'

UPDATE SESSION.TEST_TABLE
    SET
    TMP_PRIORITY_CODE = priority_code
    FROM
    TABLE 2
    WHERE
    TMP_ORDER_ID = PRIORITY_ORDER_ID;

select * from SESSION.TEST_TABLE;

drop table SESSION.TEST_TABLE;

2. Best Answer
    Posted by db2mor

"UPDATE session.test_table T set T.tmp_priority_code = (select S.priority_code from table2 S where S.priority_order_id = T.tmp_order_id)

MERGE is an SQL statement (also in t-sql) which can combine inserts/updates/delete in single statement, and you can also merge into a session table.
    Depending on cardinalities, you may need to index+runstats the session table appropriately , and ensure the other table is suitably indexed, if you need to scale."

Provided Answers: 27
    Post the exact error code, the line that's failing, the DB2-version+fixpack and platform(Windows/Aix/Os400/Z-os).