Provided Answers: 1

Answered: Query to show only records base on most recent date change

Hey all,
    Please help! Im new to Access and Sql. I have a table that looks something like the one below. I want the resulting query to only show the records with the most recent date for each item. If I simply use max() on the ModifiedDate field it returns all records with the most resent date for each item, but doesnt remove the other records and i still end up with 9 records.

UniqueID ITEM PRICE ModifiedDate
    232323 item-1 $1.23 1/1/2017
    111344 item-1 $3.12 12/11/2016
    11111567 item-1 $2.17 12/13/2016
    232300 item-2 $7.23 1/12/2017
    119989 item-2 $8.43 11/1/2016
    12202211 item-2 $6.23 12/13/2016
    232212 item-3 $14.22 2/13/2017
    122002 item-3 $13.14 10/11/2016
    11887556 item-3 $12.12 12/23/2016

Looking for the result to be this (just 3 records):
    UniqueID ITEM PRICE ModifiedDate
    232323 item-1 $1.23 1/1/2017
    232300 item-2 $7.23 1/12/2017
    232212 item-3 $14.22 2/13/2017

Code:
    SELECT TempTable.UniqueID, TempTable.ITEM, TempTable.PRICE, Max(TempTable.ModifiedDate) AS MaxOfModifiedDate
    FROM TempTable
    GROUP BY TempTable.UniqueID, TempTable.ITEM, TempTable.PRICE;
    Help is greatly appreciated!
    Thanks in advance

2. Best Answer
    Posted by PHILnTEX

"
    Quote Originally Posted by MikeTheBike View Post
    Hi Again

I indicated you needed to JOIN the sub query not use it as a criteria, something like this

Code:
    SELECT TempTable.UniqueID, TempTable.ProdItem, TempTable.ProdPRICE, TempTable.ModifiedDate FROM TempTable INNER JOIN (SELECT TempTable.UniqueID,  Max(TempTable.ModifiedDate) AS MaxOfModifiedDate FROM TempTable GROUP BY UniqueID) AS MaxTempTable ON (MaxTempTable.MaxOfModifiedDate = TempTable.ModifiedDate) AND (MaxTempTable.UniqueID = TempTable.UniqueID)
    This is obviously untried, but it should be somewhere near!

HTH

MTB
    PREFECT! Thanks MikeTheBike!!!