Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    74

    Unanswered: Incomplete drop down list

    Greetings,

    We’re currently running access 2016 split database (with individual front-end and shared back-end)

    Couple of questions:

    1. We have a form with a drop-down whereby users select either P: Providers or C: Clients to populate the name of the provider or the client. However, the list that is populated is not complete (e.g. provider name that starts with the letter (P-Z) did not show in the list. I checked the tables to verify the provider names are up to date.

    a. I checked properties > data tab > Record Source is blank
    B. In design mode I also checked properties of the object’s name it shows cboType

    2. Though we have a login form where users enter their credentials to log in, we noticed just clicking login will let users access to the application (without entering username & password)

    Regards,

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    New Zealand
    Posts
    1,476
    Provided Answers: 11
    You can't blame msaccess for those problem

    if cboType recordSource is blank then what does the next line say "Row Source Type" what is it

    Have look at the Other vba code behind the form I would look in the from_open Event there mite be some code in there that full the cboType feild with values


    well the person who wrote the login screen just fail that exam LOL
    hope this help

    StePhan McKillen
    the aim is store once, not store multiple times
    Remember... Optimize 'til you die!
    Progaming environment:
    Access based on my own environment: DAO3.6/A97/A2000/A2003/A2007/A2010
    VB-NET based on my own environment started 2007
    SQL-2005 based on my own environment started 2008
    YOUR PASSWORD IS JUST LIKE YOUR TOOTHBRUSH DON'T SHARE IT.
    DONT WORRY ABOUT THOSE WHO TALK BEHIND YOUR BACK
    THEY'RE BEHIND YOU FOR A REASON

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    74
    To answer your questions, below is what is listed in the property of the cboCaseType:

    Name: cboCaseType
    Control Source: blank
    Row Source: "P";"Providers";"C";"Clients"
    Row Source Type: Value List

    I think the problem might be that there is a limit to the number of entries a combo will display (65k records) and we have over 72k records.

    What would be a better way to re-design the combo box? Maybe, instead of typing the provider name when the form opens, start typing the provider# that will populate the rest like provider name etc.


    TIA

    Regards,

  4. #4
    weejas is offline Grumpy old man (training)
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    Surrey, UK
    Posts
    1,095
    Provided Answers: 17
    I'm confused. Is your combo box for the users to select the type of record, or to select a specific provider or client? It sounds like you have two combo boxes there.

    As to the login form, it looks like someone created the basics but didn't code any checks or validation into it.
    10% of magic is knowing something that no-one else does. The rest is misdirection.
    Beers earned: 2

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    74
    Weejas,

    You are correct, two combo boxes: when they open the form and click new, a drop down appears P:Providers
    C;Clients

    Depending on what they are wanted to view. If P: provider, as they type the first couple of letters, the list will populate.

    I’ll work on the login code and post back.

    Regards,

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    All over, Now in Missouri
    Posts
    78
    Populating a second combo based on the first combo is easily achieved.
    On the after update trigger, use code to change query of second combo box.

    If cboProviders = "c" then
    Me.cboPovidersName.rowsourse "build qry here"
    Elseif cboProviders = "p" then

    Endif

    Does this help?
    We tend to look at Linear paths which can lead us to a path of resistance!

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •