Unanswered: Workgroup Security

I thought I posted this yesterday, however I do not see it. trying again.

We have 3 Access DB's that were created a long time ago and we have been using Access 2003 to access the DBs without a problem.
    HQ is requiring everyone to start using MS Office 2016 Pro Plus.
    Which is great, the only problem is the Access DBs were set up using the Workgroup Security from Access 2003. I was able to get workgroup Security to work in Access 2010 however now what I try to open up the DB's in Access 2016 I am getting "cannot open a database created with a previous version of your application"
    I go to the Help and it says to do a "compact and repair", went to the web page that it suggests to go to, to do that and it does not help me out. As my user name implies I am a newbie to DB to some extent. I don't know where to go to run it.

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

R

weejas is offline Grumpy old man (training)
    Provided Answers: 17
    I go to the Help and it says to do a "compact and repair", went to the web page that it suggests to go to, to do that and it does not help me out.
    What actually happens? We've got a good idea that it didn't help, or you wouldn't be posting here!

This link offers some pointers on what to do instead of using workgroups. I generally prefer to restrict databases to named AD accounts with Dev Ashish's functions to identify the current user - eliminates the need for passwords.
    10% of magic is knowing something that no-one else does. The rest is misdirection.
    Beers earned: 2

Compact and Repair????

Quote Originally Posted by weejas View Post
    What actually happens? We've got a good idea that it didn't help, or you wouldn't be posting here!

This link offers some pointers on what to do instead of using workgroups. I generally prefer to restrict databases to named AD accounts with Dev Ashish's functions to identify the current user - eliminates the need for passwords.