Hello,
    I am an intermidiate level VB Developer.I am developing an
    application in VB6 for Hotels.I am maintaining database in Access for
    my application. Now the customer is using another application for
    accounting purpose which uses Clipper/dBase combination.He wants me
    to make entry to this dBase database while a bill is prepared through
    my VB application, to avoid makimg mannual entries to his accounting
    software.
    I am not able to update the dBase database through VB Code.
    Can anybody help me out of this?
    Regards
    Shreeniwas bhide

Several years ago, when I attempted to use VB6 with clipper/xbase, it intermittently caused "not a dbase file" errors, and was unable to handle the IDX, CDX and NSX indexing. Haven't used xbase since. Good luck!

Problem: Microsoft does not support updating dbase tables in it's newer data access components. This is a political thing with the makers of dbase... yada yada yada

Solution: Use an older solution, specifically DAO version 3.5. It works beautifully, and is actually quicker than ADO.

Code base:
    Dim db as database
    Dim rs as recordset
    Dim strSQL as string

Set db = DBEngine.Workspaces(0).OpenDatabase("C:\DataPath\" , 0, 0, "dBase III;")

strSQL = "SELECT ... From ... WHERE ...";"
    Set rs = db.OpenRecordset(strSQL)

'if you want to edit do something like
    rs.addnew
    rs![something] = something else
    rs.update

'or you can do direct updates like
    strSQL = "DELETE ... WHERE ...));" 'or update, or insert into etc etc
    db.Execute strSQL

The only real catch here is that you have to add the older DAO 3.51 object library to your app, but I have had a similar situation (older app written in clipper with dbase tables) and I like the performance of the dbase so much better than the mdb files that I am sticking with it!!!

Hope it helps!

Problem with Dbase Indexes

Hi