Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Posts
    1

    Question Unanswered: MDE file in Access generates blank report

    Hi All,

    I have a *.mde file that will generate a blank report only on one system. On another system the file will generate the report the it is
    supposed to.

    Any ideas would be appreciated.

    Thanks,

    Sharan

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Posts
    6

    Question Re: MDE file in Access generates blank report

    Did you ever figure this out? I'm having a similar problem - any help would be GREATLY appreciated!

    Thanks!
    Abigail

    Originally posted by Sharan
    Hi All,

    I have a *.mde file that will generate a blank report only on one system. On another system the file will generate the report the it is
    supposed to.

    Any ideas would be appreciated.

    Thanks,

    Sharan

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    MI
    Posts
    3,713

    Re: MDE file in Access generates blank report

    Originally posted by Sharan
    Hi All,

    I have a *.mde file that will generate a blank report only on one system. On another system the file will generate the report the it is
    supposed to.

    Any ideas would be appreciated.

    Thanks,

    Sharan
    What do you mean by "blank"? Does it give you anything on the report at all?

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Posts
    6

    Re: MDE file in Access generates blank report

    By blank, I mean it loads as though it's got a NULL recordset behind it.

    More background:

    I have several reports in an Access 2000 database.

    The reports are based on a query that has a form value as one of it's parameters.

    E.G. Select * from Foo where Foo_ID=[Forms]![frmMain]![foo_id]

    SOMETIMES the report loads BLANK. If you close and come back a few minutes later, it loads fine.

    This is a distributed application (MDE) with multiple users.

    At first, I thought this might be some sort of locking issue.
    However, I have not been able to confirm that theory.

    If I load the app on one machine and bring up a form displaying record #2, then bring up the app on another machine and load the report for record #2, it loads fine.
    Same if I'm actively modifying the record when the report is generated.
    Same if the report is already open on another machine.

    So, it doesn't appear to be a locking issue.

    The next thing I'm going to try is removing the parameter from the query and instead filtering the report.

    E.G. Docmd.OpenReport "rptFoo",acViewPreview,,"([foo_id]=3)"

    However , this isn't giving me any warm fuzzies. I don't want to modify my app on the CHANCE that it MIGHT fix the problem. I'd rather have a known CAUSE and SOLUTION before I proceed.

    Any help is greatly appreciated.

    Thanks,
    Abigail

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    MI
    Posts
    3,713

    Re: MDE file in Access generates blank report

    Originally posted by aloar
    By blank, I mean it loads as though it's got a NULL recordset behind it.

    More background:

    I have several reports in an Access 2000 database.

    The reports are based on a query that has a form value as one of it's parameters.

    E.G. Select * from Foo where Foo_ID=[Forms]![frmMain]![foo_id]

    SOMETIMES the report loads BLANK. If you close and come back a few minutes later, it loads fine.

    This is a distributed application (MDE) with multiple users.

    At first, I thought this might be some sort of locking issue.
    However, I have not been able to confirm that theory.

    If I load the app on one machine and bring up a form displaying record #2, then bring up the app on another machine and load the report for record #2, it loads fine.
    Same if I'm actively modifying the record when the report is generated.
    Same if the report is already open on another machine.

    So, it doesn't appear to be a locking issue.

    The next thing I'm going to try is removing the parameter from the query and instead filtering the report.

    E.G. Docmd.OpenReport "rptFoo",acViewPreview,,"([foo_id]=3)"

    However , this isn't giving me any warm fuzzies. I don't want to modify my app on the CHANCE that it MIGHT fix the problem. I'd rather have a known CAUSE and SOLUTION before I proceed.

    Any help is greatly appreciated.

    Thanks,
    Abigail
    This sounds like the infamous Jet driver delay ... Have you tried putting in a delay of about 6 secs?

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Posts
    6
    Where would the delay be added?
    The form requesting the report? The report?


    I found this on MSDN: http://support.microsoft.com/default...b;en-us;307640

    But I'm not receiving any ERROR, so I'm not sure if that would help.

    I could have it test to see if the report is blank and then retry...

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •