Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Question Unanswered: Help -> ORA-03113

I am really stuck ;
    I am running Oracle 9i on Win NT. I have a quiet large database, and was doing alot of deleting when I ran out of undo space.
    Anyway; i shut down the database and then tried to start it up; every time i do i get the "ORA-03113 end-of-communication channel".

Don't really know what else anyone would need to know to help me (I am a newbie)! But it is quiet urgent.

Thanks for your help

Russell Smith
    Software Projects
    Serck Controls Ltd

Check the log files. What does it say in there.

I have encountered a corrupt datafile when running out of space before. The only way I could open the database was to 'offline drop' the affected tablespace.

Thanks; one problem - i am really a newbie to administering oracle! i.e. logfiles?!?!?!?

(i don't know where to find them; and every one else round here knows less than me.)

The error before about running out of tablespace was on the undo tablespace; should i try and drop this? or would the table i was deleting from be the one which is broken?

Also; I really don't want undo, also i don't have the disc space: how can i disable it?

Thanks

ps. sorry for the vast amount of newbie questions.
    Last edited by rhs98; 02-22-02 at 10:17.

As you're talking about 'UNDO' rather than 'ROLLBACK', I'm assuming you're on 9i right?

I'm afraid you don't have a choice about having undo. You need either rollback segments or an undo tablespace.

As for the logfiles, what platform are you on? By default they should be under the %ORACLE_HOME%/admin/%SID%>/bdump In there you should have a file called %SID%alrt.log. Go to the bottom of this alert log ans see what it says.

Ok, will go and have a look in a minute for the logs;