Unanswered: Newbie Question: Scheduling DTS Error

Hello all,

Although I am a somewhat experienced Oracle DBO I have been working on a SQL Server 7 problem.

I user the DTS Wizard to make a DTS package and the package works fine when I execute it manually, whether it is to create a local text file or to upload to a remote server.

BUT...

at any point when I try to schedule the the package I get this error:

Microsoft SQL-DMO (ODBC SQLState: 42000)
    [Micorsoft][ODBC SQL Server Driver][SQL Server][Login failed for user '(null)'. Reason: Not associated with a trusted SQL Server Connection

I get this message as soon as I click on 'schedule task', whether its to creat a text file or connect to a remote server. Whether I user NT Authentication or SQL server authentication. I cant seen to find this error on any of the search engines either.

Maybe I dont know because I am new with SQL Server, but does anyone have any ideas?

Thanks in advance
    Aaron

The scheduler is run under the 'SQL Server Agent', if you go to properties screen you will see a header 'Service startup account'. If it is set to 'System account' you should set it to 'This account' and choose a domain acount that has the proper rights.

At the site that I am at I've created a new NT user called SQLAdmin which is part of the NT Domain Administartor group and I have the service startup as this user.

problem scheduling DTS package !

I have the same problem:

I changed the service startup account but this does'nt make a difference.
    Are there any other sollutions ????

Possible MDAC version problem

I got the same error, although for a different problem. Assuming all settings are correct, perhaps this info from Microsoft would be helpful.

FIX: SQL Server ODBC Driver Ignores Authentication Setting (Q279526)

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
    The information in this article applies to:

Microsoft ODBC Driver for SQL Server, version 3.6