Results 1 to 5 of 5
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    162

    Unanswered: Adding device to Segment problem

    I have an issue here....Its never happened before. I normally use sybase central (ASE 11.5) to create new devices and add them to existing segments. For some reason Sebase Central crapped out but I finally re-registered the plug -in to fix this issue. My problem now is: After creating database devices, Sybase central somehow does not recognise these devices so that I may add them to existing segments to create much needed space. What do I do. Are there more options command line style that I could use that would/could force an existing device onto a segment?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    162

    I also tried this

    by the way I have also tried this................

    disk init
    name = "device name",
    physname = "d:\physical_path\file_name.dat",
    vdevno = 18, size = 102400

    but when I try to add a new segment or add the device to an existing one I just get this error:

    Server Message: Number 17281, Severity 16
    The specified device is not used by the database.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    India
    Posts
    7

    Re: segment

    Hi,

    Your are Just creating the device. The device has not been allocacted to the database.You will have to do the following:

    alter database [databasename] on [devicename]
    devicename is the name you give in the disk init command.

    If you have a user defined segment then you can do an sp_extendsegment to extend the segment on to this device.

    If you are creating a new userdefined segment the you can do an sp_addsegment to add a new segment.


    Regards,
    Last edited by suchetan; 03-13-02 at 01:47.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    India
    Posts
    9
    Hi Wale,

    After Adding the device, You must alter the database by

    Alter database databasename to devicename = size.

    then only the device is added to the particular database.After that u can
    add these device to the segment.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    162

    thanks guys

    I did do this yesterday, and it worked fine. Thanks.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •